This post is about Chocolate

I suppose there are more important things I could be talking about, but one of the things I missed most about being away was the food, so expect me to just talk about that at times.

For those of you who are unaware, Ghana is one of the world’s leading exporters of cocoa, the stuff that makes chocolate. Its how thousands of Ghanaians make a living, including my grandmother for a chunk of her life. Hence in addition to just liking the way it tastes, I feel sort of a special connection to Ghanaian chocolate.

This is what I grew up eating, Golden Tree chocolate.

It comes in milk chocolate

Dark chocolate

Lemon

Orange

and Coffee flavors

as well as pure cocoa powder

This stuff has no additives. Its great. Think really dark chocolate in a mug

(sidenote: apologies for the poor pictures. I’m on dialup these days sadly. I’ll probably go over to an internet cafe with broadband to load the other pictures I am taking)

Anyway, turns out I ‘accidentally’ opened one of the bars

Now I guess I have to eat it all. Life is hard sometimes

11 Comments on “This post is about Chocolate”

  1. sume says:

    OMG, now you have to bring back samples. I wonder if I could find any of those in our local World Market store.

    I learned something new about Ghana today. Keep posting!

  2. Anonymous says:

    wow my dad is from ghana and i didn’t even know that

  3. Kwasi says:

    I’m guessing they are pretty hard to find in the US Sume. I always got mine sent to me.

    I’m sure I can sneak in a few boxes on my trip though

  4. R. says:

    there’s nothing like the chocolate you grow up with back home…

    now if I could get my hands on that chocolate stout you keep talking about, I’d have the best of two worlds.

  5. you see… i actually didn’t know that.

    we export cocoa in Nigeria too, but we hardly have any really good chocolate. definitely not any local brands, anyway!

  6. KangolLove says:

    That packaging in nice! I want the orange one.

  7. Great post, thank you for sharing 🙂
    M

  8. Oyibo Pepe says:

    I like ure blog Kwasi …keep it up !!!

  9. Selam Africa says:

    I am an Ethiopian. I visited Ghana two months ago. I had a wonderful experiance and plan to go back there.

    I have the opportunity to test the chocolate made in Ghan. It is delictious.

    Thank you for the great blog.

  10. Dot, UK says:

    I visited Ghana a couple of years ago and i really really love this chocolate! I brought back several boxes , and i wish i could’ve brought more. If only someone would sell it in this country…


Leave a Reply

