The Flag is still flying……………

I know this is a little late buy by now you should expect that from me.

Ghana turned 50 on Tuesday and a host of foreign dignitaries showed up to help us celebrate our position as the first sub-saharan country to be given permission to run our own affairs.

More interesting to me than the official celebration though, was the public response to the event.

Accra and Tema have been covered in flags for a couple of weeks now.

There have been brisk sales of flags and Ghana themed memorabilia.

Just about every car, taxis included, is flying the flag. Literally the city has been awash with red, gold green and black. Even more so than when Ghana was starting to dominate teams who were expected to murder us in the World Cup.

On independence day people showed up at the square to get seats early in the morning. Reportedly by 4:30 A.M it was impossible to find a seat even if you’d paid for one.
That was remarkably inspiring to see. Honestly, sometimes I underrate my country. I forget that one of the reasons that Ghana has managed to remain as stable as it has been is that people do see themselves as part of the same country to a large degree. There is so much noise about our religious, ethnic, economic and political differences that its sometimes easy to miss the ways in which we pull together. This doesn’t mean that things are perfect by a long shot. There are lots of things that need fixing in this country, but I’m seeing our confidence in our own abilities and our awareness of our potential increase significantly. And that gives me a bit more hope for the future.

I’m sorry I don’t have pictures but we’ve been moving and so the camera has been packed up. I’ll try to get you some shots once I unpack it.

sidenote: you have to wonder what the 2010(50 years after the year when the most African countries got independence) celebrations will look look. If I had money I’d make the trip from country to country and enjoy the festivities. As it is I’ll be saving up for the 2010 World Cup in South Africa.

4 Comments on “The Flag is still flying……………”

  1. Craig says:

    For 24-hour coverage of SA’s World Cup preparations

  2. […] a Ghanaian, shares some high points of last week’s celebration in a blog entry titled: “The Flag is still flying……………” Ghana turned 50 on Tuesday and a host of foreign dignitaries showed up to help us celebrate […]

  3. em says:

    well i dont know how exactly i got to your site, but hey the magic of internet! I hope the Ghana Independance day was good – I think which ever country you are in – those kind of days bring back why being who you are and knowing what you stand for is important.

    you probally dont care, but we just had Australia day on the 26th of Jan. I feel like John Howard is letting us down with what he is doing to our country and our reputation, but that’s another story …..

    have fun in whatever you do! em 🙂

  4. kwasi says:

    Thanks em. Your kind words are appreciated


Leave a Reply

