Pictures from the competition

today was a really good day people. I’ll talk more about the I2CAP competition in due time, but I thought you might like to see the first round of pictures

background: The I2CAP program is a secondary school level programming competition. We train the teachers who go back and train the students. Then we have regional competitions and finally the nationals. At the moment their tutors are taught in the Ruby programming language

They are given a bunch of problems of varying difficulty and graded on how well they can create a working solution.

Its only been going on for almost 2 years and we finally got teachers in every region trained. The first nationals will be in september. The plan is to eventually be able to assemble a national team for the International Programming Olympiad

And now the pics:

The teams praying before game start. A lot of them are from religious secondary schools

The host school’s team also praying

Teams during the competition

More pictures to follow, as well as my impressions

12 Comments on “Pictures from the competition”

  1. Villager says:

    We have a similiar high school computer competition that has been taking place for over 20 years here in the United States. We should find a way to collaborate. Visit http://www.betf.org to learn more about our program if you are interested.

    peace, Villager

  2. Belle says:

    Thanks for the update, it sounds like the competition went really well. Can you give more colour on exactly what the programmes were like, in terms of complexity of the problems they were working on? I’m really curious as to that. How has it been working with the tachers as well, and what was their initial level of computer literacy?
    Probably pre-empting your post in I2CAP…thanks!

  3. kwasi says:

    Villager, thanks fir the link. I will be sure to take a look.

    Belle, there will be a more comprehensive post about the details on the work blog hopefully today. We are in the process of migrating web servers so it might take a bit longer than I anticipate.

    As far as complexity goes, the level varied significantly between the first two, which were quite basic, and the last two, which required a bit more thought. If I can find a copy of the questions do you want me to email them? The thing to keep in mind is that most of these students only had a few months of training under their belts. I expect the level of ability to go up significantly by the finals and in the years to come.

    I’m not one of those who does the teacher training. From what I hear the level of initial computer skill among then can vary widely and this affects how much they learn. They all got a week long crash course in the language and there are plans to bring them back for further training later

  4. […] is a materials scientist who teaches computer-related subjects in Ghana.  He recently posted pictures from a programming contest, the eventual aim of which is to assemble a national team for the […]

  5. Belle says:

    I’d love an email with the questions. Thanks!

  6. Uchenna says:

    damn yawl got some fruity school uniforms over there, man…

  7. kwasi says:

    you’re on that good naija hate man.

    I’ll bet your stuff is as bad if not worse

  8. AL says:

    Men the Ghanain uniforms are very colorful these days. Last time I was there most kids wore the brown ones.

  9. kwasi says:

    It really depends on the school these days. Private schools have more leeway. Plus I understand they softened up the rules on that these days.

    I definitely wore the brown for a decent chunk of my school career

  10. sokari says:

    Last weeks Pambazuka Review of African Blogs:

    http://www.pambazuka.org/en/category/blog/40723

  11. […] Another Competition 09Jul07 I’m sure some of you remember my I2CAP picture post. […]


Leave a Reply

