Another busy week

This week, the job is hosting a Media-FOSS workshop which is offering tutorials to interested media people from all over Africa in open source software that can be useful in their activities. There’s also a localization conference happening at the same time and potentially an open forum on FOSS and its relevance to Africa on Friday. I may be speaking at that one, a concept that is a bit unnerving.

Setting up for that has kept me busy for the last couple of days and will probably keep me running around until it ends on friday, at which time I will most likely need a beer badly.

For those of you who are curious, they are covering tools that include

I think thats it. If there’s anything else its skipping me right now.

Here’s a link to the inaugural speech by Ghana’s minister of communications.

For the most part I approve of this conference if for no other reason than it gets the idea of Linux and Open Source Software further into the public consciousness, especially seeing how much WIntel tends to own the IT mindshare in this country. I’ll blog more about my impressions as the event goes on. I might even put up the slides to my Friday talk if they don’t look too embarrassingly horrible

2 Comments on “Another busy week”

  1. Villager says:

    You mentioned the conference in Ghana. I was wondering if the GIIT (Ghana Institute of Information Technology) group was still active to your knowledge?

    peace, Villager

  2. kwasi says:

    This is the first I’ve heard of them Villager.

    That may be an oversight on my part though


Leave a Reply

