the story so far…….

As usual, there has been a bit of a time lag in my blogging. I’m working on getting more regular at this people. Until then please forgive the absences. I assure you I am actually working (most of)the time I am not here.

Anyway, as far as school goes. I am almost done with the lectures segment of my course. Although to, be honest, their idea of lectures has mainly involved getting us to read and figure out stuff on our own as much as possible and get back to them when extra direction is needed. My research project has been picked though, so I shall be working on nothing else from about the end of march until the end of September when I turn in and defend my thesis.

As for what its about, well, I shall be using the finite difference time domain method to determine the electromagnetic field distribution in the vicinity of silver and gold nanoparticles and find the localized surface plasmon resonances of a range of nanostructures(copied almost directly from the proposal I was given. The links will help explain it but basically I shall be using a FORTRAN program developed as someone’s Phd to run some simulations. I may end up making some modifications to the code too, depending on how things go.

As for Judo, I went for my first competition this weekend At the University of Sheffield International Student Teams competition. The ‘A’ team from my club came in second and our women won the drinking challenge later that night. I didn’t do so well. I fought in the ‘C’ team in the weight class above mine against predominantly better competition. And I made some mistakes I shouldn’t have. Hence I got, thrashed. Still, I have a feeling I shall not be repeating those mistakes again. And, barring any surprise schoolwork, I’ll be fighting in another competition this weekend at my proper weight class against less seasoned opposition. I’ll let you know how that goes. And hopefully I’ll have pictures.

Until then people………….

3 Comments on “the story so far…….”

  1. r4yner says:

    You have a really good attitude. My instructor calls tournaments “expensive judo lessons,” which really hits the nail on the head. You make mistakes, you learn, and it’s a bonus if you win. Good luck at your next meet!

  2. kwasi says:

    Thanks r4yner, they really are good lessons. The trick is to make sure I learn them and learn how to improve from what they teach me. Then again I’ve been told that’s a good analogy for life.

  3. umbrarchist says:

    {{{ using the finite difference time domain method to determine the electromagnetic field distribution in the vicinity of silver and gold nanoparticles and find the localized surface plasmon resonances of a range of nanostructures(copied almost directly from the proposal I was given. The links will help explain it but basically I shall be using a FORTRAN program developed as someone’s Phd to run some simulations. }}}

    That sounds like some really interesting and complex stuff.

    I am not really trying to change the subject because this is all physics to me. But how can we work on complicated stuff and not have solved the simple things?

    How do you build a 110 story skyscraper without figuring out how much steel and concrete to put on every level? Every level of a skyscraper must support the combined weights of all of the levels above. So how is it that the nation that put men on the moon can’t tell the entire world the TONS of STEEL & TONS of CONCRETE on Every LEVEL of the World Trade Center? But we are supposed to believe that two 200 ton airliners caused two 500,000 ton buildings to collapse LEVEL TO THE GROUND in less than 2 hours.

    The NIST does not even specify the total amount of concrete in the buildings. The entire world should be laughing at the United States.

    umbra


Leave a Reply

