In which the absentee host returns. Again

A very belated happy new year to you people. Apologies for the long absences. Again. At this point I’m pretty sure I’m down to just the people who forgot to remove me from their feed readers.

Quick Updates on what I’ve been up to:

I was officially awarded my Masters by Research in Physics. My parents and big sister were in town for my graduation and that will easily pass for my best day this year. Since then I’ve gotten accepted into a physics PhD program with the same advisor at the same university. 3 more years of this and I get to walk across a stage again in a gown with a hood on it and put ‘Doctor’ on my business cards.

On the Physical side. I persist with my judo and have now logged hundreds of hours of being thrown around, pinned, choked and armlocked. On good days I get to do the same to other people. In a little under 2 weeks I get to compete in the BUCS(British Universities and Colleges Sport) kyu grade competition. Hopefully all that work will end up in me getting a few good throws. Either way there will be pictures and maybe even video. At some point before I get the PhD I want to get my first dan(black belt)

Otherwise, I live in London, I study, I train, I hang out with friends, I still read too much, I watch the odd movie and life continues.

There’s a bit of a backlog of topics I was planning to write about but never got around to. Some will make it out in the coming weeks, some won’t. Either way, keep me in your readers people. If nothing else I need the touch typing practice

2 Comments on “In which the absentee host returns. Again”

  1. Erere says:

    Congrats! Just started a PhD myself (chale, the grad school path is not easy o). Good to see a fellow African geek (I’m Nigerian šŸ™‚ I still get strange looks when I tell people I do Taekwondo, wonder what they would say if they knew I’m a huge fan of manga and anime (and I mean all genres, shounen and shoujo, etc) as well- it’s not just a race/nationality thing, it’s a gender thing (I’m a woman), as well- (hmm, that could be a blog topic to tackle if you’re still into the writing thing).

  2. radicalhope says:

    You are awesome! Congratulations to you for earning your Masters Degree.


Leave a Reply

