What else I’ve been watching

I started this post when I was talking about The Wire, I figured I’d put out a list of what else has been keeping my attention TV wise these days. Its late, but I already wrote most of it so I figured why not. I’m not really a huge TV person, never have been. I tend to time-shift my shows and then watch them when I’m not doing anything else, which usually ends up being late at night.

  • Battlestar Galactica: This has been one of my favourite television shows of the last few years and is now heading towards an ending. If you haven’t seen any of it, you should have. Its really, really good. Basically its a rimagining of on old science fiction show in which the human race is wiped out my a race of machines we’ve created and the survivors are forced to run for their lives while being hunted by the same machines. Along the way thugh it becomes a great meditation on the nature of humanity, morality, religion etc. Its science fiction at its upper end. I recommend highly.
  • Big Bang Theory: This I was determined not to like. Its a sitcom about a pair of socially awkward physicists and their friends. I pretty much expected that the writers would settle for the dumbest possible nerd stereotypes, add no real depth and screw the story up. Instead, they kept the stereotypes but managed to add enough depth and authenticity to make them real people. Interestingly enough, there are quire a few scientists I know who are followers of the show because of how well its written and the inside jokes it throws our way. Also recommended
  • The Unit: Dennis Haysbert shooting people and looking cool in the process. Need I say more? Its a bit on heavy handed in its stance at times,but its great pulp action and good acting. All things I’m partial to.

Other stuff I’m watching but not so keen on writing a short paragraph about, Mobile Suit Gundam 00 and  the new season of Hajime No Ippo (yes, I like anime. It doesn’t say geek up there because I couldn’t come up with another name)

I was also watching Dr. Who and Torchwood until both seasons ended. I’m really, really waiting for them to start back up again, even though they shall no longer be servicing my Freema Agyeman crush. Again, if you are a science fiction fan and not watching these, your loss. Majorly.

15 Comments on “What else I’ve been watching”

  1. Nell says:

    First, profuse, though belated, congratulations on your Masters Degree!!!

    Interesting about the anime, I have been an animation fan most of my life, although it is just one of many interests. As a librarian I am kind of a professional dilletante. I like some anime, particularly some of the artwork. I find the stories often have a kind of ritualistic sentimentality that annoys me. That might be a function of age. Had I encountered anime in my formative years I might have found it romantic and been more of a fan. I am more inclined to like it more if I watch with the sound off. And the terminal cuteness of some is hard to take. I have enjoyed watching some of the Gundam series on the Cartoon Network in the past, but I don’t think it has been on recently.

    I like some of the Pixar animated movies. Although I have liked a lot of Disney animation, a lot is better with the sound off, and a fair amount can be skipped altogether. The syrup has a tendency to ooze out of the screen and all over the floor. There are some good graphic novels out, but although I liked reading comic books up through college, I lost that taste somehow. I get visually impatient. I liked the Uncle Scrooge comics in the late 1950s and early 60s. He and the nephews traveled a lot and had adventures around the world. In that way they were like the Tin Tin comics I also liked later. Being of their time, they both have some problems with stereotypes. I have not seen the Scrooge comics in a long time. Michael Henle’s younger brother Jim had, and I think still has, a good collection, and I used to read his. As I recall, he has them all archivally preserved now. I was poking about in the process of thinking about this note, and found a place to download both Scrooge and Tin Tin. I haven’t tried it yet though. The closest thing I know of currently that follows that tradition is the Jackie Chan Adventures cartoons, also in comic book form. They are for children, but are clever and nicely done, good characters, with excellent adventure stories taking them all around the globe.

    I’ve also been interested in your ongoing study of Judo. I have studied T’ai Chi since the late 70s. My original teacher learned it in Taiwan. He had previously studied Judo in Japan and always held a very high regard for Judo, and would occasionally show us little bits of Judo technique. He has long since retired. I am a pretty lazy student, although my current teacher studies and continues the martial applications and traditions of T’ai Chi. Even a rotten student like myself, having done it long enough, begins to learn interesting things about energy.

    I hope you keep writing. You are someone with a lot that is interesting to read.

  2. Michal says:

    I read some of your postings. You are an interesting person. I hope you get your readers back.

  3. Viante says:

    i really like this, Geek like me.

    Battlestar Galactica, not my thing..StarWars more like it

    Anime, hmm..Gundam, never really liked that

    Interesting read though

  4. Cederash says:

    Кругом война, смерть, глупость, а вы тут… сами знаете, чем занимаетесь.

  5. Ferinannnd says:

    Занимательная интересная статья Да и в отличие от большинства других подобных советов воду в уши не льешь

  6. Avertedd says:

    одумайтесь, многотысячная армия Ваших читателей не поймет Вас, не простит!

  7. Appfrica says:

    Whether you like or hate Big Bang Theory, I suggest you try The IT Crowd which is British show essentially about the same thing (2 Geeks – 1 Girl). I assume that Big Bang theory may have been created to rival the American version of The IT Crowd which never made it past it’s pilot.

    The British original however is brilliant and far more funny than BBT.

    Here’s the link to it on IMDB http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0944954/

  8. Rich says:

    I read your archived post about Alex Simmons BlackJack and I thought it was awesome. Can you tell me or put me in the right direction so I can buy the various volumes of BlackJack.

  9. John says:

    Hi. I like some anime, particularly some of the artwork.

  10. Jan S says:

    Your most recent post being over a year old, I’m prompted to ask after your well-being. I do hope you’re well and busy instead of worse things which I won’t mention. 🙂 Do please come back to your blog and update it soon.

  11. Shawn Harris says:

    There is no better show than BSG, hands down. I only wish Caprica was as good.

  12. Erere says:

    Hey, I just discovered this and already, I’m a fan of your blog. I’m Nigerian, living in the US now and a huge fan of manga and anime (thought I was in the minority, so happy to hear you’re one of the fold as well ;). Also fantasy and sci fi as well- I second Torchwood, best sci fi show on TV in a while in my opinion. I remember watching Dr. Who back in the day in Lagos, Nigeria so I’ll have to look into this new remake everyone’s been talking about.

  13. C.J. says:

    The Big Bang Theory is hilarious!

  14. Silvia says:

    Still alive?


Leave a Reply

